weekly gab - Sept 8

it's fall, y'all. (sorry, had to.)

What’s up, party people?

Billy Porter Hello GIF by MOODMAN

How are we on this fabulous Sunday? I hope you all recovered well from the shock of returning to real life after Labor Day (for those who observe — for me, Labor Day meant another day to labor, sadly). I can’t believe we launched the clique an entire week ago! There have been so many exciting new developments happening in the past week, and I can’t wait to keep my weekly gabbers in the loop as we grow the site and continue pursuing our mission of making journalism fun again. MJFA? Too close to the lame acronym? Let me know 😅

News for humans, by humans.

  • Today's news.

  • Edited to be unbiased as humanly possible.

  • Every morning, we triple-check headlines, stories, and sources for bias.

  • All by hand with no algorithms.

*sponsored content

Now, here’s a roundup of some great content from the past week:

Brittany is both hilarious and spot-on with this take. It seems like situationships and dastardly men have many of us in a chokehold… and it’s driving us to do some pretty insane shit. Therapy is one of the only things keeping me from looking up any given man’s recent speeding tickets or using an anonymous viewer site to watch their mom’s IG story. We’re healing over here ✨🙏

Things are really heating up this election season, right as the Eras Tour is wrapping up. Will our blonde bestie finally address the chaotic divide happening amongst her fanbase, and will the Swifties for Kamala prevail? I mean, they did get Carole King to join their Zoom call — that was pretty incredible. Shoutout to Julia for some excellent reporting on this story!

So, normally, I would never share my own work as a top content piece for the week, but I’m really passionate about this topic and the source I interviewed for the story has been instrumental in my own debt and bankruptcy journey. I highly recommend anyone to read this if you’re struggling with debt and don’t know where to turn. At this point, I’m ready to scream from the mountaintops that, “YOU HAVE OPTIONS!!!

Now for the fun part…

Let’s gab, shall we?

I want to share a silly little post we made over on our Instagram today, and get your thoughts on some thangs:

  1. In reference to Brittany’s article about “crashing out” over a crush, what’s something wild you or someone you know has done because you/they went crazy over a crush? Leave your story in the comments on this post or reply to this email. I’ll feature some top picks in the next newsletter 🤪

  2. An existential crisis has recently fallen upon me. I intentionally created our site logo in lowercase because I’m a millennial who is trying to masquerade as someone ~hip and cool~, but now I’ve noticed that everyone is referencing The Clique with proper capitalization. I haven’t been, but now I’m wondering what y’all think. Would you prefer consistency in using proper name casing going forward? This is a serious matter, and I would appreciate your feedback 🫡

Should "the clique" be capitalized as "The Clique" outside of the logo?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Thank you for your honesty. We aim to please over here at t[T]he c[C]lique, so your thoughts and opinions are valid and important to us!

Before we part, don’t forget that you can support the clique by subscribing to one of the premium tiers of the weekly gab! Becoming a clique member (just $5/month) or a clique insider (just $10/month) will not only give you access to specific opportunities to write for us and extra, exclusive content from the site and beyond, but you’ll also have the gift of knowing you’re supporting a journalist-funded mission to provide a paid platform for both aspiring and established journalists to write about their passions!

Let me know your thoughts, questions, concerns, (but not your criticism — you can keep that to yourself 😘) Until next time, babes!

Reply

or to participate.